wildlife - Bhamragarh Wildlife Sanctury


Bhamragarh Wildlife Sanctury

 Area   104.38 sq. kms
 Best Time To Visit  February to May
 Location   Chandrapur District, Maharashtra



This sanctuary is located in Chandrapur district in the Vidharba region of Maharashtra. Majority of the area is under thick forest that is wood land, with small patches of grass lands distributed over the entire protected area. One can even find wetlands in the protected area. Notable among them are Pamalgautam and Parlkota rivers, which runs through the protected area. 

Flora :
The forest in the sanctuary is moist deciduous mixed forest. The evergreen vegetation is found along the perennial 'Nalas' and rivers. The main tree species are Ain, Arjun, Behada, Bija, Bel, Shishamtendu, Hirda, Kusum, Jamun, Mango, Haldu, Kadam and bamboo. Kudgudi, Tarwad, Gokhru, Tarota, Neel & Kuda are aome of the main shrubs found over here. The common grasses are Chir, Mussam, Gawat, Khus and Kusal.

Fauna :
Bhamragarh Wildlife Sanctuary is known for its variety of wild animals. The endangered animals in this area are Leopard, Jungle Fowl, Wild Boar, and Sloth Bear. Tourists can also find other animals like Barking Deer's, Blue Bulls, Hare, Mongoose, Peacock, and Flying Squirrel.



   Arrival Information :

By Rail : Nearest railway station is at Ballarpur, 197-km on Delhi Madras main line
By Air : Nearest airport is at Sonegaon Nagpur, 370-km via Chandrapur 
By Road : Nearest bus station is Aheri, at 102-km. other stations located near the sanctuary are Ballarpur and
Chandrapur, which are at 197-Km and 212-km respectively from this sanctuary

Maharashtra Wildlife

Yawal Sanctury
(Jalgaon District)
(Kolhapur District)
Anerdam Wildlife Sanctury
(Shirpur Tehsil Of Dhule District)
Bhimashankar Wildlife Sanctury
(Western Ghats)
Dajipur Bison Sanctury
(Border Of Kolhapur District)
Jijamata Udyan Zoo
(Byculla District)
Katepurna Sanctury
(Akola  District)
Nandurmadhmeshwar Bird Sanctury
(Niphad Tehsil Of Nashik District)
Nayagaon Mayur Sanctury
(Beed District)
Pench National Park
(Near Nagpur)
Tansa Wildlife Sanctury
(Thane  District)
Wan Sanctury
(Amaravati District)
Tipeshwar Sanctury
(Yavatmal  District)
Phansad Wildlife Sanctury
(Raigad  District)
Navegaon National Park
(Navegoan, Gondia)
Nagzira Wildlife Sanctury
(Tirora Range Of Bhandara Forest)
Jayakwadi Bird Sanctuary
(Aurangabad District)
Gugamal National Park
(Amaravati District)
Chikhaladara Wildlife Sanctury
(Vidarbha Region)
Bhamragarh Wildlife Sanctury
(Chandrapur  District)
Karnala Bird Sanctuary
(Panvel Taluka Of Raigad District)
The Sanjay Gandhi National Park
(Borivali, Mumbai)
Koyna Wildlife Sanctury
(Satara District)
Bor Wildlife Sanctury
(Hingni in Wardha)
Kalasubai Harischandragad 
(Ahmednagar District)
Chaprala Wildlife Sanctury
(Chandrapur  District)
Malvan Marine sanctury
(Sindhudurg District)
Sagareshwar Sanctury
(Khanapur Tehsil)
Peshwe Udyan
Tadoba National Park
(Near Chandrapur)
Holiday packages