Maharashtra wildlife - Anerdam Sanctuary


Anerdam Wildlife Sanctuary

 Attraction Nature's Love Attraction
 Best Time To Visit November to February

On Bombay-Agra National Highway In Shirpur Tehsil Of Dhule District


The sanctuary is situated on southwestern range of Satpura range in Shirpur Tehsil of Dhule District. It shares boundaries with Yawal sanctuary other sanctuaries in Madhya Pradesh. 

Flora :
The present stage of vegetation is degraded scrub forest with small patches of wooded land. Flora of this place includes common trees like Khair, Hiwar, Babul, Bel, Dhawda, Palas, Salaia, and Terminenalia species, etc. Common shrubs include Vitex Nigundo, Zizphus Helicteres Isora, Solanium Giganteum, Casia Auriculata and Lantna etc. Known locally as Kusal, Bhuri, Rosa, Kunda, Sheda and Kusali, etc. are common grasses.

Fauna :
The sanctuary was once very rich in wildlife, now it is trying to regain its previous status. Common animals found in this area are Barking Deer's, Chikaras, Hares, Porcupines and Jungle Cats. Monitor Lizard is the common reptile in this sanctuary. Among the migrant animals one can find over here are Hyenas, Jackals, Wolves and Wild boars. Common resident birds include Peafs, Quails, Partridges, Egrets, Herons, Cormorants, Corts, Spot Bills, Eagle Hamers, and Owls etc. One can also see variety of birds, which migrate, to this area. Significant among them are Brahming Ducks, Cranes, Stokes and many Waders.


Arrival Information :

By Rail :Nearest railway station is Nardona, 40-km on Western Railway and Chailsgaon, at 125-km on Mumbai-Bhusawal route.
By Air : Nearest airport is at Aurangabad, which is 215-km from the sanctuary.
By Road : Nearest town is Shirpur, 15-km and nearest city is Dhule, 70-kms from the sanctuary and both the places are well connected with regular bus routes


Maharashtra Wildlife

Yawal Sanctury
(Jalgaon  District)
(Kolhapur District)
Anerdam Wildlife Sanctury
(Shirpur Tehsil Of Dhule District)
Bhimashankar Wildlife Sanctury
(Western Ghats)
Dajipur Bison Sanctury
(Border Of Kolhapur District)
Jijamata Udyan Zoo
(Byculla District)
Katepurna Sanctury
(Akola  District)
Nandurmadhmeshwar Bird Sanctury
(Niphad Tehsil Of Nashik District)
Nayagaon Mayur Sanctury
(Beed District)
Pench National Park
(Near Nagpur)
Tansa Wildlife Sanctury
(Thane  District)
Wan Sanctury
(Amaravati District)
Tipeshwar Sanctury
(Yavatmal  District)
Phansad Wildlife Sanctury
(Raigad  District)
Navegaon National Park
(Navegoan, Gondia)
Nagzira Wildlife Sanctury
(Tirora Range Of Bhandara Forest)
Jayakwadi Bird Sanctuary
(Aurangabad District)
Gugamal National Park
(Amaravati District)
Chikhaladara Wildlife Sanctury
(Vidarbha Region)
Bhamragarh Wildlife Sanctury
(Chandrapur  District)
Karnala Bird Sanctuary
(Panvel Taluka Of Raigad  District)
The Sanjay Gandhi National Park
(Borivali, Mumbai)
Koyna Wildlife Sanctury
(Satara District)
Bor Wildlife Sanctury
(Hingni in Wardha)
Kalasubai Harischandragad 
(Ahmednagar District)
Chaprala Wildlife Sanctury
(Chandrapur  District)
Malvan Marine sanctury
(Sindhudurg District)
Sagareshwar Sanctury
(Khanapur Tehsil)
Peshwe Udyan
Tadoba National Park
(Near Chandrapur)
Holiday packages